Skip to content

Kansas City – Carniceria y Tortilleria San Antonio

In the old Armourdale district of Kansas City, Kan., sits one of the best Mexican grocery stores and taco shops I’ve ever set foot in. If you’re looking for cheap, good tacos on days of the week not named Tuesday, then look no further than Carniceria y Tortilleria San Antonio! These tacos are legit “street taco” style tacos and right in front of the counter are all the self-serve taco fixings a person could imagine.

The tacos were excellent the day fellow blogger Chris Petty and I ate there. Obviously we both went for the pork, so I had the carnitas and he had al pastor tacos. Everything about them was perfect. The meat was tender and had so much flavor I hardly needed to add anything else to them, and the fresh tortillas were incredible as well.

The store also has about every meat, side dish, fruit, and drink you could possibly need to prepare a traditional Mexican meal. They also have huge bin of hot Chicharróns (pork rinds) that are scooped out to order, if you’re into those! Overall I can’t recommend this place enough to anyone looking for authentic tacos and other Mexican foods. Located just south of I-70 and few blocks east of 10th street on Kansas Avenue, it is very easy to get to from I-70 or from I-35 (via 7th Street).

Until next time,
Mike

 

No comments yet

Leave a comment